Hypocrisy - Official Website - Interview

10 Years Of Chaos And Confusion

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

10 Years Of Chaos And Confusion
Send eMail
Type: Compilation
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Death, Melodic
1. Penetralia
2. The Fourth Dimension
3. Osculum Obscenum
4. Apocalypse
5. Killing Art
6. Deathrow (No Regrets)
7. Left To Rot
8. Until The End
9. Pleasures Of Molestation
10. A Coming Race
11. Fractured Millennium
12. Roswell 47
13. Fire In The Sky
14. The Final Chapter

Review by Krys on August 22, 2001.

How the hell can you go wrong with a 14 track best-of disc from on of the all time best bands ever? Even though Hypocrisy still exists and records new albums they are already written in pages of metal history, in bold letters. Whatever I write here will never be sufficient enough to show my honest gratitude to the band that shaped my, and thousands of metal fans’, music taste.

I don’t even know where to start, all the songs should be well known to all death metal fans and writing track descriptions simply doesn’t make sense because everything was already said throughout thousands of ‘zines and other music media.

What you need to know is that those masterpieces are not just best tracks slammed together to create another “Best of...” They are re-mastered jewels with additional arrangements and musical layers. If you thought 'The Fourth Dimension' or 'Apocalypse' knocked the boots off you 7 years ago, then today’s versions will rip your legs from your ass. This is ten times more powerful and destructive! Every time I hear “As my soul leaves the body I’m free taken to hell...” I get cold chills and want to scream. I want this song to be played when I die!!! Cleaner and heavier guitars, more technical solos, a tighter rhythm section and better growls and screams from Pete; that’s what you get from almighty death masters. I don’t even know why am I trying to advertise this disc here, there are bands you just go out and buy their stuff cause you know it’s going to rule your world until something new comes out. Hypocrisy is definitely one of them.

I want the “10 Years of Chaos and Confusion” to last forever... time is only mankind’s way of measuring distance from birth to death and this epic makes it stop. Turn it up and you’ll see what I mean.

Bottom Line: If you don’t buy this CD, please die.

Rating: 10 out of 10