Sigh - Official Website - Interview

In Somniphobia

Japan Country of Origin: Japan

1. Purgatorium
2. The Transfiguration Fear
3. Opening Theme : Lucid Nightmare
4. Somniphobia
5. L'excommunication à Minuit
6. Amnesia
7. Far Beneath The In-Between
8. Amongst The Phantoms Of Abandoned Tumbrils
9. Ending Theme : Continuum
10. Fall To The Thrall
11. Equale I) Prelude II) Fugato III) Coda

Review by Adam M on February 1, 2012.

This is a more Avant-Garde attempt at the Sigh carnival style of music. It is even more interesting in some manners than some of their other albums. There is an almost classical flavour to some of the songs on this album that lends a more thoughtful nature to them. The variety of flavours and off the wall elements also makes the album somewhat comparable to the works of Mr. Bungle and this quirky nature is what makes the album stand out in some manners.

Each song is vastly different from the other one and features multiple changes in mood and development. There is a strong sense of melody, regardless and this is demonstrated in the catchy first couple of songs in particular. However, the album becomes more elaborate and complex as it progresses. There is an appearance from The Meads Of Asphodel vocalist on the album and his style blends nicely in with the Sigh experience. My favourite track on this album is probably the splendid 'Amnesia' which concludes excellently. There are a variety of outstanding tracks to be found on this album, however and it’s a solid experience overall.

As far as atmospherics go this band puts together a theatrical experience and this album is a testament to this over the top sound. It’s very Avant-Garde in nature, but nicely structured on the whole, so that it remains comprehensible throughout. Fans of adventurous music in general are encouraged to seek "In Somniphobia" out.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 9.5
Production: 8.5
Originality: 8.5
Overall: 9

Rating: 8.9 out of 10