Metallica - Official Website


United States Country of Origin: United States

1. Enter Sandman
2. Sad But True
3. Holier Than Thou
4. The Unforgiven
5. Wherever I May Roam
6. Don't Tread On Me
7. Through The Never
8. Nothing Else Matters
9. Of Wolf And Man
10. God That Failed
11. My Friend Of Misery
12. Struggle Within

Review by Death8699 on June 18, 2019.

A different approach from songwriting here - Metallica of the 1980's used to consist only of extreme and fierce thrash metal. Here they've laid back and put forth a solid heavy metal release that really needs recognition. I'd say that the first 5 releases are good then after that they sold out. I wouldn't consider this release to be a sell-out, but they did have a "happier" form of Metallica instead of the more darker side of the band.

The music has heavy distorted riffs throughout this album mixed with some clean tone melodies as was featured on the songs such as "The Unforgiven" and "Nothing Else Matters." The guitars on this album are wholly original and thick. Really catchy rhythms, but tempos that are not fast paced as was featured on ...And Justice For All. The band lightened up and put forth heavy metal here. The songs themselves were all noteworthy and deserve praise.

The guitars all of them fit together - the rhythms, leads, bass all were well mixed to the point to where you could hear everything throughout the album. Hammett's solos featured a lot of use of the wah pedal which meshed well with the rhythms. The acoustics where melodic and noteworthy. Hetfield's voice was such that you could understand what he's saying throughout this entire album. He really sings as opposed to the passed releases which he was more aggressive.

The bass guitar was barely audible on ...And Justice For All, but not on this release. You can hear his efforts this whole album. I really liked that about this album because I think that it was unfair to leave the bass barely audible. The guitar riffs were totally original and unique. Each song had its peaks and valleys with the tracks varying intensely, while overall all tracks were worth hearing.

Production was awesome as I've previously stated each track was well mixed together so that all of the instruments/vocals/backup vocals were all up to par. That's what was lacking in prior releases - ...And Justice For All, Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning, and Kill 'Em All all had mixing that were below par. The bass mainly was the problem - it was hard to hear as I mentioned. But on this release everything flew together in right proximity.

A lot of people consider to call this release as being a sell-out. I, too, for a while, was of that same mentality, but after repeated listens to I've concluded that this release was great heavy metal. The song riffs, vocals, bass, and drums all struck me to finally say that it's worth picking up. After this release was their downfall. Straightforward heavy metal is what this Metallica album was all about. Don't miss out on some great tunes here. A milder Metallica, but still very catchy and noteworthy.

Rating: 9.5 out of 10


Review by Tobias on January 25, 2001.

OK, it's interesting, different, and riding the coat-tails of bands like Soundgarden. But even Soundgarden had a harder edge at the time with albums like Louder than Love and Badmotorfinger. It's getting to be not-so-metal-anymore, but it's still good heavy rock.

Rating: 7.5 out of 10