Crystal Viper - Official Website - News

Crimen Excepta

Poland Country of Origin: Poland

Crimen Excepta
Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Heavy
1. Witch's Mark
2. .
3. Child Of The Flame
4. .
5. It's Your Omen
6. .
7. Crimen Excepta
8. .
9. Medicus Animarum
10. .
11. The Spell Of Death
12. .
13. Hope Is Gone, Here's New Law
14. .
15. Fire Be My Gates
16. .
17. Tyrani Piekiel (Vader Cover - Bonus)
18. Ghosts Of Sherwood (From The Robin Hood: Ghosts Of Sherwood - Bonus)

Review by JD on May 9, 2012.

I see that Poland is more than giving us some of the finest Extreme Metal. It seems they eat and breath metal in all of its forms. Case in point is Poland’s proud and loud gift to Traditional Metal... the mighty Crystal Viper.

Born in 2003, Crystal Viper delivers a maximum energy old school metal assault that is both fun and powerful at the same time. Fronted by songstress/guitarist Marta Gabriel and backed up by three stellar musicians (Bass: Tom Woryna, Guitarist: Andy Wave and Drums: Golem), this foursome delivers metal in NWOBHM vein close to Angel Witch, Omen, Tyrant, Warlock and Witchfinder General to even Iron Maiden as well. All done to perfection for our listening enjoyment.

Tracks like the heavy and infectious 'Witches Mark' and the classic power of 'Its Your Omen' shows no hint of newer post 90's metal, as it is pure and staunchly old school. Even though the songs sounded clearly situated in the 80's, it seems to have been breathed life and passion - obviously having that energy that only the NWOBHM always had. Crystal Viper has kept that feel and passion.

It is Traditional Metal at it finest, brought into the new millennium without any changes to its style and presented just for us as a community to enjoy. I for one want all new metalheads to hear it and learn and to the veterans of the Horns and Moshpits to also listen and remember where we had evolved from - not to mention the wide open future we have. This single release of Crystal Viper, hold everything that what metal needs to see, remember and rejoice in. I will be doing just this.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9.5
Atmosphere: 9.5
Production: 9.5
Originality: 9.5
Overall: 9.5

Rating: 9.5 out of 10