Morning - Official Website

Hour Of Joy

Netherlands Country of Origin: Netherlands

1. Intro
2. Hour Of Joy
3. Inside
4. This Unreachable Mess
5. The Unknown Is Searching The Unfound
6. Kill The Silence
7. Circle Of Power
8. When Shadows Dance In Light
9. Captured By The Colour Of Faith
10. Perception Of Feelings
11. You're Setting Fire
12. Stop Drawing
13. The Show Must Go On (Queen Cover)

Review by Adam M on April 3, 2012.

This is a melodic venture that shows a symphonic side that can be likened to material by bands like Nightwish and perhaps earlier material by Within Temptation. The music here is bolstered by an enchanting sound that gives the songs character and passion. There’s a fun feeling to the songs that is maybe akin to what might be found with Within Temptation.

The amount of energy put into the songs is commendable overall. However, this band doesn’t quite live up to the top works of that band or earlier material by The Gathering either. It’s a solid album and certainly well above average, but there isn’t enough interesting moments thrown throughout. The vocals are a very nice and accommodate the music in an appropriate manner. The music is also under the guidance of keyboards that help spruce up the songs quite appropriately. The overall vibe "Hour Of Joy" is as the name suggests very upbeat and positive throughout. There are few moments that really standout throughout, but the album is fairly consistent from beginning to end. There is a crystalline feel to the songs and an icy winter like atmosphere that enhances the entire proceedings.

Still, though the feeling is pleasant, it isn’t as grandiose or memorable as what The Gathering or Within Temptation produced at their peaks. Still, there is a lot to like with this disc, such as the delightfully glorious 'Circle Of Power'. Overall, "Hour Of Joy" was a fun endeavour that was very enjoyable to listen to.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 7.5
Atmosphere: 8.5
Production: 8
Originality: 7
Overall: 7.5

Rating: 7.7 out of 10