Azaghal - Official Website


Finland Country of Origin: Finland

Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: March 3rd, 2008
Genre: Black
1. Tämän Maailman Prinssi
2. Pirun Verta
3. Quetzalcoatl
4. Kuolonkäärme
5. Vihani Raivoavina Valtamerinä
6. Maailman Viimeinen Yö
7. Kuolemankultti
8. Tuhkaan Kirjoitettu
9. Kaikkinäkevän Silmän Alla

Review by Felix on September 10, 2023.

When listening to this album for the first time, you will be wide awake in a matter of seconds. The reason for this is that a suddenly emerging army of sharp guitars combines ugliness and massiveness brilliantly while attacking the audience. In order to avoid misunderstandings, this is exactly the kind of attack that musically well educated people like you appreciate. Anyway, seeking shelter would be a useless plan, because the wall of sound leaves no chance to escape. The misanthropes of Azaghal present fanatic black metal in its purest form and they are in the fortunate position that the flawless production expresses their musical vision in a forceful manner. The compositions are gilded by the radicalism of the mix with the effect that they shine in full glory.

"Radical" is also the suitable term for the songs themselves. It is obvious that Azaghal hate any form of compromises. Yet they are clever enough to vary their pieces as much as necessary. The third track, for instance, differs from both its predecessors considerably. Instead of following their ultra-brutal approach, it is based on an almost ritualistic riff. The background choirs emphasize the feeling of attending a spiritual meeting. Does anybody make sacrifices for "Quetzalcoatl", a deity of the Aztecs and the Mayas as well? It seems so, even though I do not understand a single word of the Finnish lyrics. But Azaghal cannot remain (more or less) calm for more than five minutes. Already the next track leads back into the blackest pits of hell. It seems as if its high speed riffs want to go down in the history books as the sonic definition of cruelty. But the most baffling feature of "Kuolonkäärme" is the weird connection of structure and chaos and I really do not know which element is dominating. In general, this is a strength of the album: every band member works with a deadly precision, but the overall impression does not lack of the charisma of artistic insanity. The musicians of Azaghal do not spare themselves and the result sounds absolutely authentic.

If you delve into the songs of "Omega", you will find out that its aura possesses a specific kind of pitilessness. Of course, black metal must always have a destructive energy. But some albums of the genre just appear as a "normal" lethal weapon. By contrast, "Omega" has the power of a cluster bomb and it kills mercilessly. In other words, Azaghal´s performance scores with an extra dose of vileness and perfidy. Their ability to impress with inexorable guitar lines adds the finishing touch. By the way, the band masters the cold-bloodedly calculated riffs and leads as well as the seemingly uncontrolled roaring, as it can be seen by a comparison of the eighth and the ninth tracks.

The musicians are also able to create different atmospheres. During the rare slow-moving parts, the sound of the formation lies in close proximity to the crawling monsters of Marduk. The use of synthesizers which show up in the fifth track generates a misty flair, but this remains an isolated case. The high speed sections dominate. Yet irrespective of the individual songs and their alternating configurations, all tunes have taken an extensive bath in the bubbling primordial soup of black metal. This does not mean that this album is the Alpha and Omega of the sub genre at the same time. Nonetheless, it appears as a raging beast and it belongs definitely to the extended leading group of the black metier. If you need a nice kind of brainwashing, this devilish metal blast will make your day.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10