Usurpress - Official Website

Trenches Of The Netherworld

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

1. Black Death On White Wings
2. Effigies Burns Across The Wastelands
3. Coronation of The Crippled King
4. The Wooden Sceptre
5. The Colours Of Darkness
6. Trenches of The Netherworld
7. The God Eaters
8. In The Beginning (Ended Yesterday)
9. Dethroned By Shadows
10. I Stand Above Time
11. Seduction Through Bloodshed

Review by JD on September 10, 2012.

Sweden is a magnet for the world when it comes to anything that is even close to being metal in general. This small country next to the Black Metal Capital of the world has, and always will be, synonymously linked with in your face and very extremes of metal. Usurpress is one of those Swedish bands that just seem to explode out on to you and rip of your face in the process. You cannot ever have a try at ignoring them, as they seem to be a life unto themselves.

This foursome executes some very bestial music. They successfully integrate into their sound some very heavy as lead Sludge Metal with powerful yet original Death Metal peppered with some very nasty Crust Punk for extra rawness. This combination of metallic flavours seem odd at first glace, but they seem to mesh it all so flawlessly into a mosh pit melting pot of chaotic fury and grinding fury and complete passions.

I was impressed throughout the CD thirty four minutes it played, stopping on songs like 'The God Eaters' and 'The Wooden Sceptre' as these were stand out tracks that shows the brute strength and talent that the have. With a better hand on the recording knobs and some time to do it right as well, this could have been a 9.5 album rather than what is below.

Usurpress can match up with any act out there for musicality and aggression. The next album will show that clearly. This album comes close to letting what this band can do come out, but I think that there is more that Usurpress has to offer up - unfortunately "Trenches Of The Netherworld" does not show what this band can do. Good album never means great... got it?

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 7
Production: 7
Originality: 7
Overall: 7.5

Rating: 7.5 out of 10