Yellowtooth - Official Website


United States Country of Origin: United States

1. Wizard Dust
2. Soulstalker
3. John Wilkes Booth
4. 75 Black Pontiac
5. Burning Daylight
6. Prophetic Ramblings
7. On The Trail Of Lewis Medlock
8. Traitor
9. Decaying From Within
10. 11th Hour

Review by JD on March 11, 2013.

Yellowtooth. A rather interesting named band from the openness of Indiana pores out a very interesting mixing of deep Sludge and Heavy Doom Metal with some 70's Hard Rock flavouring smattered into a classic framework of older Metal/Hard Rock. You get something that comes out more than what it seems to be.

What you get with Yellowtooth is this wall of thick guitars, almost a groovy set of muscle melodies with demolishing drums that seem to be battering everything in sight. Add in a great growling gravelled voice and some very dark yet seriously blunt lyrics on a whole host of topics... you get exactly what this Indiana band is about, and then some.

Songs like the primitive yet very impressive attack of 'Soulstalker' and the way nasty 'Decay From Inside' blends some good Sludge/Doom/70's Hard Rock mix with vocals that are as sadistic as any - yet come across so perfect unlike most other singers out there. It is this perfect amalgamation of all of these various musical parts that come together to make a very interesting album to many parts of the Heavy Metal universe.

This might not be a perfect album by any stretch of the imagination but it is good because of its honest approach. It is so damned fucking massively good that it can show exactly how looming heaviness is supposed to be done. This is what metal is all about this is a lesson we all can learn over and over again.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 9.5
Production: 9
Originality: 9
Overall: 9.5

Rating: 9.2 out of 10