Morbid Insulter - Official Website

Funeral Mysticism

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

1. DISC 1 -- Awakening The Spirits Of Evil
2. Deathfuck Bizarre
3. Strike From The Grave
4. Blitzkrieg Mayhem
5. Fornications In Paradise
6. Doomsday Orgies
7. Order Of Unholy Violence
8. Blitzkrieg Mayhem
9. Wrath From Hades
10. Saints Of Putrid Flesh
11. DISC 2 -- Abominations Curse
12. Thundering Evil
13. Breaking The Cross
14. Take Me To Hell
15. Black Fate
16. Wrath From Hades
17. Antichrist Blasphemies
18. Poison Of God
19. Extol Sathanas
20. Raped Graves

Review by JD on May 25, 2013.

It’s sort of frustrating when you get a band to review, you’re all stoked to listen and write on the album and then you find out that this band is already split-up – and it has to be a compilation you have gotten. It happens once in a while, and it now has actually happened again right down to the compilation part.

In an older traditional style, this Finnish act crosses the sickest Black Metal with some wild older Thrash. Ssort of like taking old Bathory or Sarcofago and mixing it with very early Sacrifice and then adding in some of the earliest Thrash. This is very raw, abrasive and forward Black metal. It is these elements that shine through… even a little with the demos part of the copulation.

The earlier demo material and the first EP that is included here are very raw and rely on the wall of heavy guitars and tremolo picking and the blastbeat drumming and comes across as being pretty good in an average way, but you could feel that they had something more. It is when Morbid Insulter begins to add in some very well played Thrash elements is when they elevate their game tenfold. Songs like 'Order Of The Unholy Violence' and 'Poison Of God' shows the leap forward and showcased that they were amazing musically as well.

It seemed that Morbid Insulter finally had created the band they wanted, then the singer Erik Skogberg (E. Expulser) committed suicide, and the band simply ceased to be. Sad to hear the band had just split up, considering they were on a path to be a band to watch. We will never know how good they could have been – but with the possibilities that were evident, it would have been darkly glorious to have heard.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 8
Atmosphere: 9
Production: 9
Originality: 8.5
Overall: 8.5

Rating: 8.6 out of 10