Shai Hulud - Official Website

Misanthropy Pure

United States Country of Origin: United States

1. Venomspreader
2. The Creation Ruin
3. Misanthropy Pure
4. We Who Finish Last
5. Chorus Of The Dissimilar
6. In The Mind And Marrow
7. To Bear The Brunt Of Many Blades
8. Four Earths
9. Set Your Body Ablaze
10. Be Winged
11. Cold Lord Quietus / I-They Congregate To Mourn / II-The Persecution Of Every Next Breath / III-Go Forth To Life

Review by Adam M on June 26, 2013.

This is a decent core offering that brings a great deal in the weight of the riffs, but falls a little flat in originality or creating an overtly interesting disc. There is definitely a harsh and catchy approach to the band's song-writing.  The band puts meaty riffs in place of innovation, however and this leads to a rather bland offering at times.  There is nothing wrong with the song structures, but at the same time they don't elevate into a really neat plane, but rather remain even keel throughout. Vocals are sharp and caustic and fit into the pattern well, but don't enhance the music too much. This type of music appeals to some more than others, thus those that find the core style interesting might derive more enjoyment than I did from here. There are some crescendos and high points in the music, but it stays on a singular plane that doesn't quite excite enough.  The music needs to bleed passion to be effective in this style and though they put some passion here, it could be more ambitious and compelling overall.  There is nothing wrong with the music here, it simply could be taken to a higher plane with more thought and emotion. The elements of thrash to be found are typically drowned out by the core ones also, which some metal fans might not appreciate greatly. Misanthropy Pure is a good, but not great album on the whole.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 7
Atmosphere: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 6
Overall: 6.5

Rating: 6.5 out of 10