Orange Goblin - Official Website - Interview

A Eulogy For The Fans

United Kingdom Country of Origin: United Kingdom

1. Red Tide Rising
2. The Filthy & The Few
3. Ballad Of Solomon Eagle
4. Time Travelling Blues
5. Some You Win, Some You Lose
6. The Fog
7. Round Up The Horses
8. Acid Trial
9. They Come Back
10. Blue Snow
11. Quincy The Pigboy
12. Scorpionica

Review by JD on June 29, 2013.

I have been a fan of Orange Goblin for a long time now and enjoyed every minute of it. The whole Stoner/Doom Metal thing is one of my favourite genres in metal. These guys have been a class act for the years they have been out there, and I think this next one will just solidify the band for me - and others as well.

Sounding like a cross between Black Sabbath on a whole whack of downers and Motorhead out on an angry bender with Trouble and with pure attitude Orange Goblin commands the Stoner Metal world just by hitting the first chord in any of their songs. These amazing four Brits have been a force since ‘97 and this bold live recorded album just adds credence to the power of the goblin.

This is the CD part of the CD/DVD set, and that was all I was given but this one little round disk is more than enough to make my review scream out loud. Songs like the infectious insanity of 'Red Tide Rising' to the more powerful yet unstoppable 'The Fog' shows a veteran unit of musicians that are settled with themselves and their music - the results is a musical equivalent of a full steam and out of control train on a steep grade downwards: they cannot be stopped, even if we wanted to. I know that we do not want to do that.

I was blown away with the sound this one has and instantly it is at the top of my list as the best recorded live album since "Live After Death" showed it was possible to have a well recorded live. This one of those… and might become a classic from it. Just listen to it, dammit… you’ll see.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 10
Atmosphere: 10
Production: 9.5
Originality: 10
Overall: 10

Rating: 9.9 out of 10