Aratic - Official Website

To The Early Grave

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

1. Residents Of Evil
2. Satan's Witnesses
3. I Am The Night
4. Ninth Gate
5. Destructing The Light
6. Shrooms
7. Puritanist Of The Black Light
8. Lobotomy Christianus

Review by JD on November 20, 2013.

I remember as a teen, hearing the ‘Big Four’ of Thrash and knowing that this was the music for me. I still loved all of my NWOBHM, but this new and very nasty music was extra special – Thrash had a vibe like no other, and still does. Now well into the new Millennium and Grunge thankfully a very distasteful distant memory – Thrash has reared its head again from the metal pool and made its presence known. A new crop of thrashers have emerged and now is poised to wreak havoc once again.

Finland based Aratic has the power and aggression just like the originators but has added some extra levels of purer ‘fuck you’ attitude to bring out some intriguing and yet catchy riffage ever. This is like Thrash in its heyday – but on fuckin’ steroids and amphetamines. Brutal is too weak of a word for this new order of Thrash that has been wondrously unleashed for us. Violently amazing just might be the right words to be using here.

I was completely made speechless by the nine well-crafted songs that Aratic offered up, nine songs that are so overwhelmingly incredible simply by the fact of this band is pretty young. I cannot pick one that stood out, that would not be fair of me to do. These amazing thrashin’ fins made a very intense cacophony of strong Thrash that ignited my metal passions to full power and got me to smile.

In short, you there, reading this online, get off of your damned ass and buy or download this album right now. Any Metalhead out there today needs this expertly crafted album for their collection and to play at the highest volume possible until the volume makes your little sister’s pet hamster explode… followed by the cat.

I said to go and buy this album, right fucking NOW. I will wait here and have a beer.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 10
Atmosphere: 10
Production: 10
Originality: 10
Overall: 10

Rating: 10 out of 10