Rammstein - Official Website


Germany Country of Origin: Germany

1. Sehnsucht
2. Engel
3. Tier
4. Bestrafe Mich
5. Du Hast
6. Buck Dich
7. Spiel Mit Mir
8. Klavier
9. Alter Mann
10. Eifersucht
11. Kuss Mich (Fellfrosch)
12. Der Meister

Review by Tammy on April 10, 2002.

Rammstein is one of my favorite metal bands, because of their modern approach to the metal “sound”. The addition of the bonus track ‘Stripped’ is the only unflattering part of this CD. The real reason that Rammstein grabs me is the band’s creative use of outside sound, and unusual vocal content.

The music in “Sehnsucht” is exceptional. All members of this band strive to meet the full potential of sound in each song, and I don’t find any band member trying to “hog” the spotlight. The drums in this band are amazing, and push you to headbang down to the last second of play.

“Sehnsucht’s” vocal content is one of the most varied I have seen to this day. Although I’m sure it doesn’t sound quite as good when you don’t understand them. The vocals go from soft, heart-wrenching ballads like ‘Klavier’, to hard hitting, murderous themes like ‘Buck Dich’. The way the band uses more than one member on lead vocals, is a nice change of pace, from songs like ‘Du Hast’ to ‘Engel’. Their deep voices embrace the listeners’ mind, and envelop them in the pictures and sounds of all things German. The bonus song ‘Stripped’, however, just does not fit with the rest of the CD. ‘Stripped’ is the only English song on the CD, it’s slower than the others are, and is badly presented. The words are slowly pronounced, and very badly accented... I really must recommend that Rammstein stick with German. The song ‘Kuss Mich’ however is a real creative burst of energy from this band. The addition of cartoon sounds makes this song instantly loveable. It feels like your listening to metal, and watching your favorite old cartoon at the same time. What can be better than that?

Overall I feel that Rammstein has done a good job with “Sehnsucht” and this is a definite must buy at the record store. Even the cover is well done, with their gallery of torture devices presented on each band member’s head. I recommend any metal fan to pick up this CD.

Bottom Line: With their use of outside sounds, and creative content, Rammstein has given us something that’s new, and doesn't suck ass.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Originality: 10
Musicianship: 8.7
Atmosphere: 10
Production: 10
Overall: 9.5

Rating: 9.6 out of 10