Napalm Death - Official Website - News


United Kingdom Country of Origin: United Kingdom


Send eMail
::   ::
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: July 1st, 1987
Genre: Death, Grind, Grindcore
1. Multination Corporation
2. Instinct Of Survival
3. The Kill
4. Scum
5. Chaught… In A Dream
6. Polluted Minds
7. Sacrificed
8. Siege Of Power
9. Control
10. Born On Your Knell
11. Human Garbage
12. You Suffer
13. Life?
14. Prison Wihout Walls
15. Point Of No Return
16. Success?
17. Deceiver
18. C.S.
19. Parasites
20. Pseudo Youth
21. Divine Death
22. As The Machine Rools On
23. Common Enemy
24. Mortal Crusade
25. Stigmatized
26. M.A.D.
27. Dragnet

Review by Luka on March 15, 2002.

During the last half of the Eighties death metal's most extreme variation, known as grind(core) was spawned by a few sick kids from Britain known as Napalm Death. In the process of creating a sound that takes even death metal to its very extreme, the band decided to eliminate all harmony or melody and created a genre of music that thrives on the deconstruction of music (if it can be called as such) itself. While original and innovative bands are always forerunners in my music tastes, these guys are, hands down, the most horrible band I have heard in my life.

Napalm Death have taken the concept of extreme music further than it was even meant to be taken. It's like they are deathly afraid that someone might accidentally mistake them for musicians, so every time a half decent metal riff starts (like on the title track, or 'Instinct of Survival') the drummer makes sure to break into a pointless blast-beat section that turns the song into drowned out noise. The guitars are so low that one has to be amazed they're getting a sound from their strings at all. A dark, slow churning riff will sometimes make an appearance, complimented with totally low tuned drums that give it an unearthly sound, but again, this band seems to think that it's mandatory to destroy anything that sounds like music for more than 10 seconds, thus bringing the overall composition value of the album to a zero.

The lyrical value here doesn't raise much further from a garbage container either. To an average song length of 30-seconds we get an average lyric length of 8 lines, these being rebellious nonsense about corrupt politicians and corrupt corporations, earth pollution, and other filthy matters. From the booklet pictures these guys don't even look 18, so who are they to preach to me about the ways of the world that they likely know little about. The vocalist, or the two vocalists, rather (the first one left halfway during the studio session, they hired another one that sounds completely identical) are utterly devoid of talent. This is not an angry yell, a guttural growl, or a rasp, this is some dude giving birth to an elephant and sounding very close to death. Absolutely tasteless.

Bottom Line: The first and most likely worst grind album in existence. The most horrible musical recording I've ever had the displeasure to hear.

Originality: 5
Musicianship: 0
Atmosphere: 0
Production: 1
Overall: 0

Rating: 1.2 out of 10