Valley's Eve - Official Website

Deception Of Pain

Germany Country of Origin: Germany

1. The Fire Burns
2. Point Of No Return
3. The Sun
4. In Your Head
5. Mirror In Your Eyes
6. Kingdom Of Pain
7. Dark Room
8. Creating Gods
9. Falling
10. Open The Gates
11. Dark Shadows On The Wall
12. Unholy Power

Review by Jack on May 6, 2002.

Valley’s Eye walk a very fine line between extremely high tempo, aggressive power metal and flat out traditional heavy metal ala Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. Pure speed drumming and heavy riff after fucking heavy riff is what Valley’s Eye are all about and it shows on their second album in “Deception of Pain”.

The two new additions to Valley’s Eye this time around after their past two albums are Frank Huber on drums and Frank Pane on guitar. These two guys add heaps of great things to “Deception of Pain” and they have obviously taken a step up from their debut and sophomore albums. Intense technical and precise rhythmic drumming from Huber add a huge plus to the already solid sound Valley’s Eye had going with original founding members, vocalist R.D Liapakis and bass/keyboard man in Martin Albrecht. New guitarist Frank Pane impresses greatly with tight guitar solos and precise melody (see ‘The Sun’ and ‘Falling’). With the abundance of talent these 4 lads it would probably come as a surprise if I say that singer R.D Liapakis outdoes his rhythmic section delivering outstanding vocal performances time and time again. ‘Point of No Return’ is probably one of “Deception of Pain’s” weaker songs, yet it becomes awesome because of the brilliant chorus of Liapakis.

While many metal enthusiasts are often skeptical about the ‘heaviness and hardness’ of power metal, they may certainly feel at ease here. If you consider this stuff power metal, then I reckon the bar can not get lifted any higher. This is as heavy and as hard as it is going to get. Valley’s Eye are a testosterone born and bred manly band. No need to hide in shame for liking power metal! Closet power metal fans rejoice you may finally come out of hiding!

Bottom Line: Tough, tough and it keeps getting tougher. Power metal/heavy metal soft compared to death/black? I think not! “Deception of Pain” is as hard hitting as it gets.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Originality: 7
Musicianship: 8.5
Atmosphere: 7
Production: 7
Overall: 7.5

Rating: 7.4 out of 10