HIM - Official Website

Greatest Lovesongs Vol. 666

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

Greatest Lovesongs Vol. 666
Send eMail
Release Date: 1997
Label: BMG
1. For You (Intro)
2. Your Sweet Six Six Six
3. Wicked Game
4. The Heartless
5. Our Diabolikal Rapture
6. It's All Tears (Drown In This Love)
7. When Love And Death Embrace
8. The Beginning Of The End
9. (Don' t Fear) The Reaper

Review by Krys on March 30, 2001.

Love-metal, here it is. Keyboards and female vocals that a few years ago were unacceptable, today are common practice in metal world and I guess it was the time for a change in lyrics department too. You might say that all those gothic bands are based on romantic lyrics and HIM didn’t do anything that wasn’t already there. You are absolutely right but… not to that extent and not with a rock-melodic music background.

OK, before I go any further, those three sixes in the title are only to bring some dark atmosphere around the band, HIM songs are about nothing else but love and beautiful women. So, if you are looking for any devil worshiping music stop reading this review right now.

Believe me this is one of the hardest reviews to write ever. Why? Because I don’t know what the hell I am suppose to do with it. To me it’s not even a metal; it’s rather a pop-rock which doesn’t even qualify to be on this website to start with. But then again, if you swallowed Paradise Lost’s last album then this one is like "Host" with guitars and right there that qualifies this as a hell of an ass-kicker compared to the "Host".

I got it! This CD is a perfect music for all metalheads wishing their women didn’t listen to 12-year-wanna-be-pop-stars. It’s actually a real band with real guys playing their instruments that just happen to compose sweet tunes about love. Trust me, I tested it many times and I haven’t met a woman that didn’t love this CD. Don’t try this if she listens to Cannibal Corpse though. In that case she would stick it in your throat, force you to swallow and cork your brown-eye so you couldn’t shit it out. (That would be the best-case scenario.)

Bottom Line: If you are romantic, in love or want to gradually introduce your girlfriend/wife to "harder" sounds this is a perfect CD to start with, otherwise stay away.

Rating: Romantics - 9 out of 10, Cannibals - 0 out of 10