Vitutus Millennium

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

1. History Has It's Scars
2. Not Of This Bastard World
3. Aliencity Of Deprivement
4. Scapegoats And Ragdolls
5. Thorn's Of A Requiem Below
6. Profane Deathwish Apocalypse
7. Damnated Grace Of Life
8. Rapture In Despair
9. Suicide At The Cemetary
10. Vitutus Millennium
11. Through The Years Of Bitterness

Review by Jack on May 6, 2003.

I have had “Vitutus Millennium” by Urilehto for quite some time now. Almost every day Uhrilehto have experienced some degree of playing time. Why leave it so long to write the review, you may ask? Listening to this record every day for nigh on a month and a half must mean I like it right? You bet. This is a black metal band that has a real knack for making things happen throughout each and every track I have heard from them on “Vitutus Millennium.”

Uhrilehto are probably a bit more extreme in the pompous keyboard playing than your average symphonic black metal band, and in saying that you may be best advised to approach “Vitutus Millennium” with a relatively relaxed and open mind, or you may be in for a bit of a shock in regards to the ‘strong’ keyboards. In fact, if it wasn’t for the ample keyboard servings provided by Mylvor, I do feel that Uhrilehto would be something of an empty shell, since there is such a prominent and important usage of the synthesizers.

With all that keyboard rubbish being served up and shoved aside, there is a lot to enjoy about “Vitutus Millennium.” First and foremost, Uhrilehto has put together a fun black metal record. It’s quirky, I don’t think it takes itself one hundred percent seriously, and it comes across in the same way that a band like Finntroll does with their ‘black’ metal. Meaning “that [they] are here to have some fun on the way to making [their] first million in black metal.” Also working highly in Uhrilehto’s favor is the usage of three sets of vocals: the spoken tenor voice, the screechy rasp, and the nasty gargle.

Bottom Line: If you don’t like symphonic black metal, then bugger off. “Vitutus Millennium” is simply not for you. For the rest of you that are after something with crisp production, fancy keyboards, and more accessible and varying black metal ingredients, then check out Uhrilehto. For lovers of Dimmu Borgir’s “Stormblast,” this record is right up your alley.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 8
Atmosphere: 6
Production: 8
Originality: 7
Overall: 8.5

Rating: 7.5 of 10