Motörhead - Official Website


United Kingdom Country of Origin: United Kingdom

Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: April 9th, 2002
Label: Castle
Genre: Hard Rock, Heavy
1. Walk A Crooked Mile
2. Down The Line
3. Brave New World
4. Voices From The War
5. Mine All Mine
6. Shut Your Mouth
7. Kill The World
8. Dr. Love
9. No Remorse
10. Red Raw
11. Serial Killer
12. The Game
13. Overnight Sensation (Live)

Review by Felix on May 2, 2019.

Since exactly three years, the incarnation of heavy metal is dead. But its spirit lives on and there is absolutely no end in sight. Lemmy's music is still omnipresent and that's only logical in view of songs such as "Brave New World", the climax of Hammered. Those of you who think that they haven't heard the ultimate metal chorus so far, listen exactly to this track and the search is over. The neck breaking catchiness of this number has the potential to drive you insane. A strict up-tempo smasher with an excellent riffing and lyrics that could not be more typical for Lemmy. Lines like "being poor is worse than having AIDS" speak volumes. Not to forget the dynamic solo part and, of course, Lemmy's well known boozy voice. This track has to be played on every celestial Motörhead concert (or did you really think that the Grandmaster of Rock has stopped his activities only because of the fact that he has left us?).

In direct comparison, "Brave New World" tramples everything else of this work into dust. But having forged one über-motörsong does not exclude the offering of further good pieces. The screaming riff of "Down the Line", the very good flow of "Voices from the War" and even the pretty strange, somehow soft and simultaneously harsh vocal line in the chorus of "Walk a Crooked Mile" has a strange charm. Right from the beginning, all these songs prove evidence that Motörhead still sound fresh, impulsive and spontaneous. Of course, the experienced warhorses know their trade, but the joy of playing shimmers though each and every composition. The throbbing bass lines fall in love with the casual or vehement guitar riffs and it seems as if bass and guitar sound coalesce with each other in order to create a unique and powerful sound, full of energy and enriched with a healthy amount of negativity. Apart from this, the tight drumming dictates the rhythm consequently. I am still convinced that the band pic on the inner side of the tray portraits Klaus Meine and not Phil Campbell, but maybe my German eyes love to fool me.

The songs show the band (with or without Campbell) from its rocking side ("Mine All Mine") and its metalized side as well. "Red Raw" seems to be the little brother of "Burner", one of their straightest songs ever which was released on Bastards. "Shut Your Mouth" lies between these poles and is built upon a riff that seems to originate from the cellar of an Australian family called Young. If you like songs of this clan, for example the great "Overdose", you will also enjoy this piece. In other words, Motörhead dish up their usual program, but with a big number of excellent riffs. Only "Dr. Love" can't keep the pace and the worthless outro consists nearly only of spoken words. It doesn't matter. The very powerful production fits the musical approach perfectly and so the listeners get blown away in a very appreciated manner.

Just like more or less any other long-standing formation, Motörhead did not only release fantastic records, but Hammered belongs to those works that ensured them a firm place in my heart. It guarantees 45 minutes of filthy fun and unlike its spiritual fathers, at least "Brave New World" has been made for eternity. So, come on, dear fellows, let's raise our glasses and celebrate Motörhead! This makes it easier to say the truth without an overdose of melancholy: Lemmy, we miss you. And Philthy Animal, Fast Eddie Clark and Würzel. And, by the way, Johnny, Joey, Dee Dee and Tommy. And Malcolm and Bon... shit, the list is much too long.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10