Carcass - Official Website

Choice Cuts

United Kingdom Country of Origin: United Kingdom

Choice Cuts
Send eMail
Type: Compilation
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Death, Grind
1. Genital Grinder
2. Maggot Colony
3. Exhume To Consume
4. Swarming Vulgar Mass Of Infected Virulency
5. Tools Of The Trade
6. Corporal Jigsore Quandary
7. Incarnate Solvent Abuse
8. Buried Dreams
9. No Love Lost
10. Heartwork
11. Keep On Rotting In The Free World
12. R**k The Vote
13. This Is Your Life
14. Crepitating Bowel Erosion
15. Slash Dementia
16. Cadaveric Incubator Of Endoparasites
17. Reek Of Putrefaction
18. Empathological Necrotism
19. Foeticide
20. Fermenting Innards
21. Exhume To Consume

Review by Allan on October 26, 2004.

Usually when I listen to a "best of" album, I conclude that it's best left for the fanatics or those looking to introduce themselves to a band. I suppose the same could be said for Carcass' Choice Cuts, but I can't help but feel like there's something more to this piece of history. Carcass isn't just any band - they revolutionized grind and death metal. Their importance in metal is without question, as is the quality of their work.

Choice Cuts breaks down the Carcass back catalogue chronologically, starting with Reek Of Putrefaction (1988) and going through Swansong (1996). Simple and understandable, as well as a clear way of showing the progression that Carcass made during their career. Carcass' two early albums are well represented with what is some of the best material off of the albums, such as 'Genital Grinder' and 'Exhume To Consume.' This is the case for the rest of Carcass' catalogue. Necroticsm (1991) and Heartwork (1993) – Carcass' most revered works – are both aptly emblazoned by top-notch songs such as the dark and gruesome 'Incarnated Solvent Abuse' and the slick, no-bullshit 'Buried Dreams.' Despite the fact that many loyal, longtime Carcass fans were put off by the bands last piece of work, Swansong, it is still well represented and an important part of the band's legacy.

Of course, it wouldn't be very wise to just release a "best of" album without throwing in something special, would it? To amend such a problem, Earache threw in two quality Peel Sessions, one recorded in January of 1989, and the other in December of 1990. Live recordings tend to lack that something, however, Carcass' Peel Sessions yielded something special. The decent-quality live recordings manage to capture Carcass at their unpolished, vicious, death/grind metal best.

Choice Cuts is a fine release that well documents the contributions that Carcass made to the world of metal. Old fan, new fan, or not a fan at all, it really doesn't matter. Choice Cuts is an album that you can't really go wrong with if you're a fan of grind/death.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 8
Production: n/a
Originality: 9
Overall: 8

Rating: 8.5 out of 10