Unholy Ghost - Official Website

Torrential Reign

United States Country of Origin: United States

1. The Calling Of Sin
2. Soul Disment
3. Eyes Of Lost
4. Decimated
5. Cross Contamination
6. Denunciation (The Cursed)
7. Entrenched Warfare
8. Torn Apart
9. Under Existence
10. Torrential Reign
11. The Apparition

Review by David on November 16, 2004.

You have to love it when an album starts off like some rabid, genetically-enhanced bastard of the Cerberus trying to munch on your skull. Much like the watchdog of Hades keeps lost souls at bay, the frantic-blurrrr-opening-track (FBOT™) keeps the listener subdued and puts an end to all hope of escape. Hats off to Unholy Ghost, whose interpretation of the FBOT is .

Considering the expression of barbarity that Torrential Reign kicks off with, it's hard not to think of bands like Suffocation and Immolation. Though these comparisons are based more on expression, their influence is felt in the flat-out brutal and textured approaches. For instance "Decimated" is a pure head-smashing death metal exemplar and "Cross Contamination" is a neatly executed mid-paced track, replete with tightly woven guitar lines and intricate percussive backing.

Yet sometimes things can get a bit much. Once in a while the blasts can grate as you wait for the chugging riff to kick back in and maybe 40 minutes was a bit of a stretch (although it'll fit nicely onto one side of a cassette). Pick any song and listen to it outside of its context and you will at least enjoy it, possibly be blown away, but listening to the whole album some of the impact is lost.

Unholy Ghost are anything but a spectre; their death metal attack is flood-blooded and aggressive. Torrential Reign is a promising look at what these veterans are capable of and if they can somehow stick a meat-hook in the listener for the duration of a record then great things are ahead.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 7
Production: 7
Originality: 5
Overall: 7

Rating: 7 out of 10