Chuck Schuldiner

Zero Tolerance

United States Country of Origin: United States

Zero Tolerance

Send eMail
::   ::
Type: Compilation
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Death
1. Track 1 - Control Denied
2. Track 2 - Control Denied
3. Track 3 - Control Denied
4. Track 4 - Control Denied
5. Infernal Death
6. Baptized In Blood
7. Archangel
8. Land Of No Return
9. Zombie Ritual
10. Mutilation
11. Legion of Doom [Begin Disc 2]
12. Evil Dead
13. Beyond The Unholdy Grave
14. Power Of Darkness
15. Death By Metal
16. Corpse Grinder
17. Summon To Die
18. Zombie
19. Witch Of Hell
20. Reign Of Terror
21. Slaughterhouse
22. Living Monstrosity (Live)
23. Pull The Plug (Live)
24. Zombie Ritual (Live)
25. Altering The Future (Live)
26. Left To Die (Live)
27. Spiritual Healing (Live)
28. Defensive Personalities (Live)
29. Mutilation (Live)

Review by JD on December 5, 2012.

Few people deserve to have any right to be called legendary, or simply put a Legend in todays metal. A few that can be called just that: Ozzy, Tommy Iommi, Judas Priest, Randy Rhodes. Death Metal Godfather from the infamous Death, Chuck Schuldiner is one of those who not only should be called that, to some he is legendary already - I've included him already in that category.

Dying long before he needed to (Pneumonia attributed to Cancer Treatment Dec. 13/02), Chuck Schuldiner has etched his mark on metal in large sprawling scribe. He did not actually invent the whole Death Metal genre but he re-energized and retool it into the drooling beast that it is today. With the knack for writing tempestuously heavy riffs that are full of biting and sharpened shards of pure power, he also really understood melody and used it in every note he played.

Every song on this two disk set comes at you with this barbarically raw, full of aggressiveness and yet spotlights the power. Chuck has left these recordings that way... and it is so clear that this was the right thing to do. With twenty nine tracks to infuse the soul with metal, it feels like its Christmas, your birthday, the best sex that you have ever had and winning the Lotto rolled into one.

I have heard that his family was not wanting to have these songs released and i respect that so much - but I have to say that these recordings are so important, that I am so glad that they have been released. I hope it was with the families blessings, but I am still glad we have them to remind us how amazing this man was. Rest in Peace, Mr Schuldiner... you earned a spot with Rock And Roll royalty.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 10
Atmosphere: 10
Production: 10 (rawness makes me think 12)
Originality: 10
Overall: 10

Rating: 10 out of 10