Dordeduh - Official Website


Romania Country of Origin: Romania

2. În Vieliștea Uitării
3. Descânt
4. Calea Magilor
5. Vraci De Nord
6. Desferecat
7. De Neam Vergur
8. Văznesit

Review by Alex Grindor on May 5, 2021.

In the vast, wide landscape that is music, pretty much everything has been done. But there's always an artist, be it a lone ranger or a group of them that somehow, even in a vastly experimented field that is music, manages to come up with something that breathes life and fresh air unto it. Romania's Dordeduh are such a group and with their sophomore Har have crafted an excellent record that encompasses an enormous variety and blend of styles and influences (and even instruments) while never losing coherence or identity.

An atmospheric bipolar journey; relaxing and agitating, peaceful and raging, melodic and dissonant. Beautiful clean vocals entwined at varied intervals with ferocious growls, drumming and bass that goes from peaceful to pummeling, guitars that mix heavenly melodies with darksome riffs and twisted leads. The entire record is a journey to behold, as it shifts mood at unexpected turns and time becomes nothing while listening to Har. From the first to the last second, you are in their grasp and they won't let you go until the journey's finished. I personally am not a fan of atmospheric bands, as they tend to drag for too long and I end up losing interest. None of that happens here, though. Dordeduh knows their craft and have mastered it to engage the listener from the very start without making it drag for too long, which helps the experience and makes this record interesting to listen to.

There is pretty much nothing wrong here, as everything is where it's meant to be. As an atmospheric record, it is meant to be enjoyed as a whole, which may detract some listeners (understandably). But if you give it a chance, you'll see that Dordeduh has crafted a unique record and I recommend it absolutely. There are no comparisons I can do here, and even if there were, it wouldn't matter. Har is set to release on May 14th via Prophecy Productions so if you can, give it a chance. You won't regret it.

Rating: 9.3 out of 10