Dark Tranquillity - Official Website - Interview - News


Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

1. The Wonders At Your Feet
2. Not Built To Last
3. Indifferent Suns
4. Feast Of Burden
5. Haven
6. The Same
7. Fabric
8. Ego Drama
9. Rundown
10. Emptier Still
11. At Loss For Words

Review by Michael on January 17, 2002.

If there were ever a band that could evoke ‘the feeling’ faster than Dark Tranquillity I am yet to find them. Every aspect of their writing style is exactly what the listener wants to hear… natural chord progressions, effortless drums and some of the most beautiful keyboards your likely to find. Coupled with some nasty death-like growls just to give it the harder edge that we all can appreciate so much, this band are certainly something special.

Dark Tranquillity are a very technical band, but not in the way most people use the word technical. As opposed to fast riffing and complex time signatures, the most common aspects of metal associated with technicality… Dark Tranquillity’s technical prowess comes into play with the arrangements and production of the songs. The attention to detail is phenomenal. There is not a single note or sound out of place on the entire CD, with everything perfectly arranged and sitting beautifully in the mix. Studio Fredman come through yet again.

The songs themselves are brilliant, a little repetitive at times… but all are equally as well constructed and smooth in their delivery. The multitude of sound effects and brilliant keyboard patches used throughout the recording add an amazing dark yet peaceful ambience and mood to the songs, having a massive impact on the listener.

Bottom Line: All in all this is a brilliant CD. Possibly some of the most beautiful and relaxing metal to come out in a long time…

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 10
Production: 10
Originality: 7
Overall: 9

Rating: 9 out of 10