Gardenian - Official Website - Interview


Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Death, Melodic
1. Selfproclaimed Messiah
2. Doom & Gloom
3. Long Snap To Zero
4. Courageous
5. Heartless
6. The Suffering
7. Scissorfight
8. Sonic Death Monkey
9. Sindustries
10. Funeral

Review by Tobias on February 19, 2001.

Sindustries is the album that introduced me to Gardenian. I have to say that is a rare moment that I hear a band for the first time and the first 20 seconds has me bouncing my head to the beat; Gardenian managed to achieve exactly that. In fact, I had to listen to the album about 5 times in two days before writing the review because I think the music is that damn good!

Some might compare these guys to Fear Factory (without all the techno remix stuff), but I’d say these guys are a good head and shoulders above Fear Factory. Gardenian, formed by ex-In Flames guitarist Niclas Engelin, has all the inclinations of a masterpiece metalwork wrought by experience and well-honed talent.

Jim Kjell’s roar is fantastically ballsy, shoving a monster-wall of testosterone in your face. The adversely clean vocals take an amazing powerhouse anthem-like tone, especially on tracks like Heartless (that one’s a jean creamer!).

One of my fav’s on the album is Sonic Death Monkey. Granted, I’m biased toward anything that has the word “monkey” in the title, but this is just a bad-ass teeth gnashing war-horse, reminiscent of Killing Joke’s sci-fi muscle sound.

Bottom Line: Gardenian has sharpened a new edge on the blade of melodic death metal and it is freakin’ kung-fu! C’mon, be MANLY and buy this album!

Rating: 8.5 of 10 (I almost put my head through a wall not giving this a 9, but I reserve those for Pure-Genious-Works like Vulgar Display of Power, and I think Gardenian has one of those coming up next)