Marduk - Official Website - Interview - News

La Grande Danse Macabre

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

La Grande Danse Macabre

Send eMail
::   ::
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Black
1. Ars Mariendi
2. Azrael
3. Pompa Funebris 1660
4. Obedience Unto Death
5. Bonds Of Unholy Matrimony
6. La Grande Danse Macabre
7. Death Sex Ejaculation
8. Funeral Bitch
9. Summer End
10. Jesus Christ
11. Jesus Christ…Sodomized

Review by Krys on May 9, 2001.

Wasn’t this opus supposed to be even faster and more brutal than "Panzer Division Marduk"? I guess after 10 years of leveling everything that moves, it was the time to show a little softer side of Marduk. I'm not saying this album is bad, but I thought that extremists like Marduk would always deliver intense blasphemous releases full of hate and blood.

Before this review becomes a list of upsets about this album, I want you to know that I quite enjoyed this epic and I simply wasn't the one who said it would be faster and more brutal than "Panzer...”. And since it isn't I can't write superlatives without pointing differences between what's said and done. What I mean by soft is slow and the most unexpected is melodic tracks. Take "Bonds Of Unholy Matrimony", "Summer End" or almost 70% of all tracks have more or less melodic lines which I can sing while shaving. I remember cutting my throat trying to do this while listening to "Panzer Division Marduk". There are of course moments of old Marduk with tracks like "Azrael", "Death Sex Ejaculation" or "Jesus Christ... Sodomized". The last one, by the way, reminds me the most of Marduk from previous release, but I’m afraid it won't be enough for some old school black metal fans. On the bright side, because of the Marduk's softer side "La Grande Danse Macabre", which ranges from fast and violent songs to atmospheric-doomy tracks doesn't get boring after a few spins. Another fact worth mentioning is production. Marduk finally showed all those "real" black metal bands that shoddy recordings would never hide fluke playing or composing skills. Although some of their riffs are not top quality and leave a rushed and unfinished feeling, at least crystal clear sound let's you hear all instruments without sticking your ear inside of the speaker and allows you to fully enjoy the recording.

Bottom Line: Overall it’s quite an interesting album, but leaves me with a half-empty feeling of just another black metal album on the long list of metal CDs. From one of the best I was expecting a hell of a lot more.

Rating: 7 out of 10