Urn - Official Website - News

Soul Destroyers

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

1. Lifeless Days
2. (Bringer Of) Pain, Agony And Death
3. Black Steel Worship
4. Strike Of Conqueror
5. In Darkness..The Fire
6. Legions United
7. War And Victory
8. Blood Of The Desecrators
9. Decibel Hellstorm
10. Soul Destroyers

Review by JD on January 9, 2009.

Finnish pioneers of thrashing Black Metal have come out from the fog shrouded gloom of their homeland and released a blackened flame spewing masterpiece onto the world. The lord of darkness himself must smile with his devotees called Urn.

Unabashed and straight ahead is the only way you could describe it... Urn delivers some refreshing old school Black Metal that is black-tinged with a little Thrash Metal for good measures. They do not compromise on anything in their attack, music or lyrics... simply gives it to you squarely between the eyes. They are going to deliver all of this, without any fluff or fold.

Songs like the title track, 'Soul Destroyer' and 'Black Steel Worship' jump out and is so furious in it's intensity, showing that Black Metal can be melodic yet crushing skulls at the same time. It is true that this is bone basic striped down Black Metal... but Urn have not scrimped even a little bit on the musicality that these three Finns seem to have... the strength come from the fact that they do not add things when they are not needed... they are who they are, end of story!

I found myself enjoying ever last note until the end, lifting up my hands to worship the metal that comes through the speakers. The undisputed Godfathers of Black Metal, the mighty Venom, would be glad to be calling Urn their bastard spawned child (if they had one)....Urn is in that sort of league when it comes down to it... their next album might be their own masterpiece as "Black Metal" was for Venom.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 8
Atmosphere: 9
Production: 8
Overall: 8

Rating: 8.0 out of 10