Dakrya - Official Website


Greece Country of Origin: Greece

1. Crucifixion Of Faith
2. Thorns Of Punishment
3. Newborn Hope
4. Reflections & Illusions
5. Waters Of Oblivion
6. Inner Scream
7. Revelations Of A Madman
8. Into The Vortex
9. Black Opera
10. Wingless Souls (Bonus)

Review by JD on March 20, 2009.

The name of this band means 'Tears' in Greek lettering, but the tears that I produced after listing to them are of pure metallic joy. Dakrya just are not a Goth style metal band that is following a trend or anything, they are taking that style and making it all of their own in a gloriously dank fashion.

Sweeping clear vocals from two lovely ladies (Cristina with clean vocals, Thomias - classic vocals) mixed with darkness powered growls (George D) and a complete band that rock as hard as any extreme metallists could, Dakrya is a group of musicians who throws out all of the rules and just get down to dominating each and every note that they put into their debut album. Mixing such diversity of musical influences such as Goth, shadings of 80's Neo-classical and even dredges in the power and darkness of Black Metal.

You have these very haunting lyrics that create universes of unbridled darkness while the heavy yet sweeping majesty of the music brings out the bleak atmosphere of a world that is far flung from our own. Songs like 'Inner Scream' bring thoughts and emotions to the surface that most do not want to cross into while 'Thorns Of Punishment' thunders in your very soul long after the last few notes have long been gone.

To make myself clear... Dakrya is the band that Nightwish wanted to be.... but cannot be!! Even for most extreme of our metal brethren, this is a band that will be noticed and revered as one to watch.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 8
Production: 9
Originality: 8
Overall: 9

Rating: 8.6 out of 10