Forsaken - Official Website

After The Fall

Malta Country of Origin: Malta

1. Tenebrarum (Intro)
2. Aidenn Falls
3. Sins Of The Tempter
4. The Lord Sayeth
5. Vanguards Of The Void
6. Armida's Kiss
7. The Sage
8. Dies Irae (Day Of Wrath)
9. Metatron And The Mibor Mythos

Review by Emma on June 8, 2009.

If you like it heavy and epic as an opening shot in a Peter Jackson film, then you want the latest from Malta’s own Forsaken.
"After The Fall" opens to a city under siege. Women screaming, blade singing against blade, and a good ‘Fuck You!’ meld into cacophony. It sends us back to the good ol’ days when bloodshed was the answer, not turning the other cheek. Appropriately, a heavy yet melodic riff sends us into ‘Aiden Falls’. This is the most memorable song on the album, actually making me push the back track button on my CD player. The following track ‘Sins Of The Tempter’ is just as enjoyable and solid. "After The Fall" is a good album, well mixed, with variation and guitar solos strewn like bodies on the battlefields their music brings to mind. It is only towards the middle of the album that my interest was lost at times, but the last few tracks redeemed this deviation into OK-land and kept my full attention. Doom lovers will want to add "After The Fall" to their collection; even those not so familiar with the Doom sound will find this an accessible album. ‘The Sage’ features a great instrumental bit, deviating from the heaviness before plunging back to dark depths and ending with ‘Metratron And The Mibor Mythos’. Fans of Forsaken, you will not be disappointed.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Originality: 7.5
Overall :8.4

Rating: 8 out of 10