Thundra - Official Website - Interview

Blood Of Your Soul

Norway Country of Origin: Norway

1. Infernal
2. Frozen Ground
3. Soulseeker
4. Blood Of Your Soul
5. Empyreal Empress Of War
6. With Power And Might
7. Reborn
8. Raevenrealm

Review by Jack on June 24, 2001.

I never thought there would be another Viking outfit that would possibly be able to compete with Einherjer’s "Far, Far North" EP. I know it may seem unfair comparing the boys from Thundra with Einherjer, but I saw "Far, Far North" as the essential Viking release. I however have been proven drastically wrong "Blood of Your Soul" is one of the best releases of the year. This is the album that Black metal fans should have been waiting for. Comprised of members from outfits such as Enslaved and Einherjer, Viking metal experience is thoroughbred throughout Thundra. I always felt that bands like Thyrfing, Enslaved and Einherjer had the right intentions when it came to producing their music, but never quite hit the proverbial nail on the head. Perhaps it required the experience and the talents of a few different Viking bands, perhaps not, but no matter as this record surely kicks ass.

"Blood of Your Soul" contains only 8 songs, but with a CD that goes for over 44 minutes there will surely be a few epic tracks involved. What separates Thundra from the rest of the pack with this release is that they just go about their music, no huge press release, no public expectations. They just produce metal, and quality metal at that. What caught my attention with this release is the absolute quality in the vocals, especially the paramount operatic singing. Personal favourite tracks for me are "With Power and Might" and "Frozen Ground". For fans of Nordic, epic Viking metal and for fans of metal in general. Absolute essential purchase this year.

Bottom Line: If you have any interest at all in Viking metal or Black metal (be it the most insignificant amount of appreciation of the art) buy this album. This is Viking metal complete with the most lush and beautiful vocal passages combined with riffs that completely blow any of the competition out of Valhalla.

Rating: 10 out of 10