Better Left Unsaid - Official Website

The Fight Within

United States Country of Origin: United States

1. Mourn For No One
2. Testify
3. Repletion
4. The Fight Within
5. Under My Skin
6. Dedicated
7. Impurity
8. Never Again
9. Far Too Long
10. Marla
11. No Regret

Review by JD on November 29, 2009.

All the way from Modesto, CA, comes the Nu-Metal stylings of a band that is calling themselves Better Left Unsaid. They have been compared to the likes of Killswitch Engage, As I Lay Dying and All That Remains while adding in Hardcore Punk as well... and I have to say that does not sit well with me. I respect each of these bands quite a bit, but never have I been a ‘fan’ of them either... but I need to be totally unbiased here.

It sounds like a perfect angling on the whole Nu Metal meeting Hardcore thing. They seemed to really be great musicians and the lyrics do intrigue me on a few levels as well... but it sounds like everyone else in the Nu Metal scene. They just do not stand out and make themselves noticeable over the throngs of bands that are there.

Better Left Unsaid are well packaged, and the recording is top of the line which makes them sounds thunderous... but it does not help the fact that the band seems rather generic and holds the listener shorter than a one year old attention span. I can hear through it all that the band seems like they could offer up something that is way better and has more balls to it as well... but on this album, the band simply plays it rather safe.

If you're into the whole Nu Metal crossover and what it is all about... this band will fit the bill perfectly in all ways... but not me. I was looking for a little more meat to my metal, and got Tofu territory. I hope Better Left Unsaid can grow a little more towards having originality... but being truthful, I don’t really see that happening any time soon.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 7
Atmosphere: 5
Production: 8
Originality: 5
Overall: 5.5

Rating: 6.1 out of 10