Deathbound - Official Website

Non Compos Mentis

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

1. I Hate Them Still
2. The Wave Called Misery
3. Free Shackles For Everyone
4. The Process Of Destruction
5. A Better Tomorrow
6. A Reason For Your Fight
7. Hell Could Be The Cure
8. When The Seas Are Boiling
9. Strain
10. The Blues Of A Dying Man
11. Death Comes For A Visit
12. Non Compos Mentis
13. The World Is But A Memory
14. A Need To Survive

Review by JD on November 17, 2011.

Nasty, hard hitting and sheer brutal metal that stands out is one of those things that only a handful of the very best bands can deliver. It is that sort of feel, that instant feeling of excitement level that every last metalhead is looking for - and they get disappointed more often than ever being satisfied. Swedish Death/Grind outfit Deathbound is certainly trying to give the sweaty masses in the moshpits that hit of excitement.

With in your face riffs and a wall of low end bass smashing though the headphones, Deathbound exacting sound and wall of heavy crunch gets your attention like a nudist at a Mormon convention. With a sound and presence from the very moment the CD is played, Deathbound are not easily passed over, or dismissed.

So much is happening on the CD, from almost a Death/Punk fire like album opener 'I Hate Them Still' to the mid tempo Death Metal powered 'Hell Could Be The Cure' - the band is front and center with their sonic aggression in full flight. Each song sounds like a violent backdrop to a group that has so much talent that you cannot stop listening to the assaulting attack that seems to be so relentless... yet you seem to crave more.

With a perfect melding of Grind/Death and Hardcore in spot, Deathbound is a cut above the rest. Don’t let the relentless wall of heaviness fool you, these are the masters of what they do and are masters over all who pitifully try to copy them. With a few tweaks to the sound before the next slab of mayhem, they could becoming Death Metal Royalty. Exalt them accordingly.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Atmosphere: 9
Production: 8.5
Originality: 8.5
Overall: 9

Rating: 8.8 out of 10