Ewig Frost - Official Website


Austria Country of Origin: Austria

Send eMail
Release Date: 2009
Label: Noise Of Dissent
Genre: Black
1. Intro
2. Kid Of Chaos
3. The Anti-Nazi Track
4. The Pirates Of Black Metal
5. Sunken In The Sun
6. Outro

Review by JD on April 28, 2010.

I have been not completely liking the newer formats of Black Metal that has been released lately. It seems almost, boring and not too original... but then a band comes along that not only has a very clearly Old School vibe, but adding in this sort of feel of freshness to the music that makes me excited as hell. Austria’s Ewig Frost (Eternal Frost translated into English) is just that sort of band.

Mixing the classic sound of metal, with the punk aspect... they are really paying homology to the originators of the genre (Venom, Bathory and ect). Clawing guitars and heavy bass and drums (F, bass, D on drums) stoke the hellish fires to a new level of pure metallic blasphemy, while the growling and spitting guttural vocals of frontman (N, guitars and vocs) spout the clear message of the Dark Lord better than any have heard.
As EPs go, this is one that is the exception to my rule. I hate EPs because it teases us... but like on occasion, I love the tease. The Ep is short, but it is nasty brutal music that is bundled up and put out there for the world to take heed... this is a perfect example that power and strength and intelligence do come in smaller packages.

It is a privilege to hear Ewig Frost can do the Old School thing, yet manage to make the music they have so fresh and scare many Christians in the process. I love this band so much that it is a total pleasure to review a band like this. This particular release has completely restored my (Blackened) faith in the state of BM, and rejuvenated the genre as well. Me thinks I will press play again, and enjoy!!

Categorical Rating Breakdown 

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 9
Production: 9
Originality: 9
Overall: 9

Rating: 9.0 out of 10