Inquisition - Official Website - News

Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm

Colombia Country of Origin: Colombia

1. Astral Path To Supreme Majesties
2. Command Of The Dark Crown
3. Desolate Funeral Chant
4. Cosmic Invocation Rites
5. Conjuration
6. Upon The Fire Winged Demon
7. Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm
8. Crepuscular Battle Hymn
9. Hymn For A Dead Star
10. Across The Abyss Ancient Horns Bray

Review by Felix on February 27, 2024.

Every dog has its day and, good news, even if you are not a dog you have realistic chances to create something very special, at least once in a lifetime. "Ominous Doctrines of the Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm" is the special work of Inquisition. They have perfected their style and the result is amazing. I fear that I often, maybe too often, use the metaphor of the impenetrable darkness that an album generates. Nevertheless, I have to make use of it once again in view of the seemingly endless dark cosmos of Inquisition. The combination of blackness, rawness, mysticism, control and science fiction puts the Colombian band in a class of its own. Inquisition are able to stretch their riffs like chewing gum, but mysteriously, they never lose their flavour. And one thing is for sure, they taste very well.

The entire album is characterised by an unending stream of torrid lava that the dense guitar sounds create. The flattening effect of songs like the ponderously flowing "Desolate Funeral Chant" is second to none. Its main line is already fascinating, but the riff variation that sets in at 2:52 is the cherry on the cake. It is uncomplicated, but concise and simply ingenious at the same time. This heavyweight number offers another form of blackness and frosty eternity than the tracks that keep a close eye on high velocity outbursts. For example, the opener or "Cosmic Invocation Rites" show the speed affinity of the duo. Yet irrespective of their velocity, all songs have in common that they are based on the pressed, guttural lead vocals and on brilliant riffs that emanate the feeling of staring into an enormous black hole. Similar to the albums of Bolt Thrower, the songs drag the listener constantly into an imaginary world and the generated atmosphere is not disturbed by surprising breaks or experimental interludes that make no sense. The only difference is that Bolt Thrower take the listener to the battlefields, while Inquisition present their cold and barren universe where the sun never shines.

"Ominous Doctrines..." possesses a lot of outstanding tunes, but the title track is probably the king of kings. Its anthemic opening leads seem to announce a victorious battle and the whole powerful and imperious track evokes a triumphant feeling. A short spherical, almost dreamful section leads to the last verse that makes the triumph of this colossal number complete. But as mentioned before, more or less each and every number leaves its mark. Inquisition do not run out of ideas. Even the closer, usually in danger of being listed under the category "filler", reaches a phenomenal quality level, inter alia with regard to its vibrating opening riff, but also because of the maturely executed tempo changes. On the whole one can say that the songs appear as stony monuments that rise up into a grey and cloudy sky.

In view of the endless vastness of outer space, the tracks do definitely not lack of depth. Inquisition have written accessible compositions without offering "easy listening" tracks. The meticulously designed album guarantees a long listening pleasure and shines with coherence. Some might say that the mix is coarse-grained, but a highly differentiating production is not necessary. The wall of sound rather underlines the massiveness of the ten pieces. Thus, almost everything is perfect. One just needs a general affinity for dense, mysterious and vigorous black metal to enjoy this special album.

Rating: 9.1 out of 10