Inquisition - Official Website - News

Magnificent Glorification Of Lucifer

Colombia Country of Origin: Colombia

1. Baptized In Black Goat Blood
2. Crush The Jewish Prophet
3. Under The Black Inverted Pentagram
4. Of Blood And Darkness We Are Born
5. Dark Mutilation Rites
6. Magnificent Glorification Of Lucifer
7. Impaled By The Cryptic Horns Of Baphomet
8. We Summon The Winds Of Fire (For The Burning Of All Holiness)
9. Eternal Loyalty To Our Lord Satan
10. Outro

Review by Jeger on July 4, 2024.

Rotting Christ, Dissection and Inquisition - in my opinion, no three bands have ever done black metal better. Inquisition? Literal icons for trueness in black metal. Their discography a genuine one that includes gems like their debut LP, “Into the Infernal Regions of the Ancient Cult”, 2004’s “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer”, their 2020 masterpiece, “Black Mass For a Mass Grave” and of course their most recent opus, “Veneration of Medieval Mysticism and Cosmological Violence”. Yeah, known for their ridiculously long song and album titles as well… 

Today, I’ve gathered you round ritual’s fire to celebrate Inquisition’s aforementioned “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer”. To honor His Highest! To glorify The Light Bringer, but not through majesty or elaboration. Let us gather as humble hordes now before his grande presence. What I love about “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer” is its simplicity. Typically, Luciferian black metal albums tend to be radical, whereas here we have earthy cuts like “Of Blood and Darkness We Are Born” that evoke images of wretched sorcerers glaring into their crystals for signs of Him - toiling in the throes of ritual to unlock the secrets of his Cosmic Throne - their rabble in awe before them. Inquisition began their journey within the pits of the genre. Their first two records dredge the depths of the world of Satanism and the occult. The music a no bullshit testament to the legitimacy of true black metal: no frills, wicked and Satanic to the bone. “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer” saw Inquisition setting upon the path toward evolution for the first time. There’s still that gut-wrenching torque to it and those lowly melodies but a little more dynamic this time around; something more palatable even.

 “Eternal Loyalty to Our Lord Satan” - a proper ode to His Infernal Majesty with all warmth and comfort radiating from every passage. You can feel His blessed energy and his austere gaze as they settle into your core. Only someone who genuinely understands Him and who has felt His touch can make music like this. This is why “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer” is one of this duo’s finest albums. It doesn’t offer the same thrill ride experience as “Obscure Verses For the Multiverse” or the genre-dominant power of their last two records, but this is TRUE black metal we’re talking here, and while production may be crisp, as I mentioned before, it’s in the energy. In tune, in sync and in stream with what feels like uncut demonic power and yet soothing enough to lull you into a trance state. I’ve heard Luciferian black metal albums created by actual occult practitioners that can’t even touch how real this thing is…

 Champions of the genre whose product only sweetens with age. Inquisition’s latest album is arguably their greatest, and as the Scandinavians scramble for position atop their own legendary scene’s highest peaks, Inquisition quietly release music a world away that simply dominates pretty much everything that Europe has to offer. And it has always been so. Oft-overlooked because of their locale and even condemned for their controversies, but undeniably one of the greatest black metal duos to have ever struck a chord or to have blasted a beat. And so we homage The Father now as we take in “Magnificent Glorification of Lucifer”. May he illuminate your path and may his wisdom be with you always. Hails be unto Inquisition! 

Rating: 9 out of 10