I.N.R.I. - Official Website - Interview

Hyper Bastard Breed

Netherlands Country of Origin: Netherlands

1. More Ruthless Than The Devil
2. The Depth Society
3. Shoot, Hammer And Krush
4. Terrorfreak
5. Masturbate
6. Hyper Bastard Breed
7. Candidate For The Fuck Of God
8. The Resonance Of Triumph
9. Annihilation
10. The Glorythrone
11. Spawn Of Abraham
12. This World's End, Wipe Out!!
13. Your Mighty Privilege
14. Hell Is Rising
15. The All Consuming Darkness

Review by Jack on September 24, 2002.

Insane Non-commercialized Rock Institute or I.N.R.I. play death metal, and they play it hard and catchy. As far as I am concerned that should be all the requirements any death head needs to go and check out “Hyper Bastard Breed”. However, while that takes care of the death noodles, it probably leaves the rest of the not-so death metal oriented members of the community in the dark as to what is so special about I.N.R.I. and their debut (???) album "Hyper Bastard Breed".

Hmm... while not being a bread and butter band certainly works in favor for I.N.R.I. as it gives them a bit more room to create interesting riffs and nice drum breaks and the like. In the press statement it states that I.N.R.I. are influenced by bands such as The Crown, God Dethroned and Malevolent Creation. All pretty credible names in their own rights. Where I.N.R.I. differs is the song writing process, which seems to spell out ‘catchy’ and ‘brutal’ above all else. What aspect I really admire about these guys is the fact that they don’t dick around with wispy little ambient introduction pieces that many death bands are opting for nowadays. They are a death metal band and you will get death metal songs. No tinkering with keyboards, no acoustic melodies, just flat out thumping riffs with gnarly vocals. I.N.R.I. play each song and then move on to the next song, with breakneck speed all the way through. For me this is what stands out the most. That and these guys can really play.

My only complaint with the album is the production is a little ‘fuzzy’, and the drums a little low in the mix, but this isn’t so bad as you really do get to hear some killer riffing and addictive tunes (‘Hell Is Rising’, ‘The Glorythrone’ and ‘Spawn of Abraham’). I guess I am just used to the big time drum production that many bands are going for these days.

If you like your death metal, sweet and succinct, and with a hint of thrash that help set some of the melodies apart from the normal meandering slop that your ears are normally greeted with, then you need not look past “Hyper Bastard Breed”.

Bottom Line: Ripper stuff here. I.N.R.I. leave most other death outfits for dead with this album. I love it. Make sure you get your hands on a copy of “Hyper Bastard Breed”.

Categorical Rating Breakdown

Musicianship: 9
Atmosphere: 8
Production: 7
Originality: 7
Overall: 9

Rating: 8 out of 10