Emperor - Official Website - Interview

IX Equilibrium

Norway Country of Origin: Norway

1. Curse You All Men!
2. Decrystallizing Reason
3. An Elegy Of Icaros
4. The Source Of Icon E
5. Sworn
6. Nonus Aequilibrium
7. The Warriors Of Modern Death
8. Of Blindness & Subsequent Seers

Review by Adam on March 20, 2001.

..And no one could be more thrilled than me! Now this band had the difficult task of creating an album worthy enough to rise above the standards they set with their previous disc Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk. With this album they come pretty damn close I'd say, and this time around there is a little bit more to offer as well. The melodies are a bit more thought out this release, and the production of the record overall is the best that they have captured yet. Songs like The Source of Icon E brutalize you with maniac drumming delivered by the allmighty Trym, lightning quick guitar riffs supplied by Sammoth, and awsome leads, bass, keyboards, and vocals by music meistro Ishahn. Emperor make it easy for any metal fan to get into black metal, and with this being their third album they have now shown themselves as an unstoppable force in the heavy music scene.

Bottom Line: Buy this cd if you are looking for some good well-produced black metal with speed, melody, and intensity.

Rating: 8 out of 10