Katatonia - Official Website - News

Brave Murder Day

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

1. Brave
2. Murder
3. Day
4. Rainroom
5. 12
6. Endtime
7. Funeral Wedding (Bonus Tracks)
8. Shades Of Emerald Fields (Bonus Tracks)
9. For Funerals To Come (Bonus Tracks)
10. Epistel (Bonus Tracks)

Review by Jack on June 14, 2001.

Firstly, this is the greatest metal release ever. This album is so fantastic, everyone reading this review should have it by now, or are intending to purchase, steal, shoplift, wait for it to fall of the back of a truck, blackmailing someone into getting it, whatever, you MUST have this CD.

I was introduced to the world of Katatonia, through the "Firestarter" compilation CD released by Century Media Records. Everything about this album reeks of pure raw class and emotion. "Brave Murder Day/For Funerals to Come..." is a shining light in a sea of black vessels. The riffs, bass guitar work, drumming, song structure are also beautifully composed it's an absolute pleasure to listen. If you were on the brink of suicide or depression, it would be this album that would finally topple you over the edge, it’s that moving and compulsive! The vocal work for "Brave Murder Day" is handled primarily by Mikael Akerfeldt from Opeth and that for most enthused metal fans is reason enough to buy this CD. However, the EP tagged on the end of the "Brave Murder Day", "For Funerals to Come..." is where one will be witness to one of the greatest ever voices in the music scene, in all genres, metal, rap, classical, alternative, blues, country, rock, R’n’B, whatever, it does not matter. Renske’s voice is brilliant. his CD is brilliant.
The only thing lacking about "Brave Murder Day/For Funerals to Come..." is the drab and boring art on the CD packaging, but that aside, this CD is an atmospheric, ambient, climatic and elucidating release. Super.

Bottom Line: The greatest Doom metal release ever, Katatonia at their absolute peak. Mikael contributes as well... what more can I say?

Rating: 10 out of 10