Incantation - Official Website - News


United States Country of Origin: United States

Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: June 12th, 2002
Genre: Black, Death
1. Blasphemy
2. The Fallen
3. A Once Holy Throne
4. Crown Of Decayed Salvation
5. Rotting With Your Christ
6. His Weak Hand
7. The Sacrilegious Apocalypse Of Righteousness And Agonizing Dementia (The Final Defilement Of Your Lord)
8. Deceiver (Self-Righteous Betrayer)
9. Descend Seraphic Irreverence
10. Uprising Heresy
11. Misanthropic Indulgence
12. Outro
13. Outro II

Review by Faithless on February 20, 2022.

United States of America is well known for being one of the pioneers and most brutal exponents of death metal acts in the world. Outstanding examples of this musical style are Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse, Malevolent Creation, Deicide, Immolation, Evil Incarnate and of course Incantation. Being a death metal fan for a while, has given me the opportunity to listen to most extreme bands that this world has vomit so far and I can tell that Incantation is one leading this infernal legion. Now let’s put an end to the bullshit and let’s go straight to business.

Any death metal addict knows that Incantation is the type of metal band that deals with religion hating and occultism topics and it is also a fact that these kinds of lyrics are sometimes stupid and repetitive and this record is not the exception. If you are looking for originality in the lyrics please don’t buy this record, title tracks such as 'The Sacrilegious Apocalypse Of Righteousness And Agonizing Dementia (The Final Defilement Of Your Lord)' are very explicit and redundant about the band’s ideology. (this one is an instrumental track but after reading the title track I really got the point, these guys hate religion!) But if you’re looking for extreme evil music and old school death metal, this is just the perfect record for you. To have a general picture of what kind of music you will find in this full length I will define it as blasphemous brutality; blasphemous lyrics and straight in your face death metal as if all hell breaks loose in your bedroom with black and doom metal influences, especially in the guitars (see Asphyx).

In this particular CD you will find the perfect amount of old school feeling mixed with some sludgy and half tempo parts (see Asphyx). Examples of this not so clear description (I’m having some beers while listening to Incantation’s Blasphemy and writing the review) are 'Misanthropic Indulgence', 'Once Holy Throne' and one of my favorites, 'Rotting With Your Christ'. This one starts with 29 seconds of a sludgy and low tone guitar that seems to repeat rotting with your Christ on and on and then next thing you hear is the infernal voice of Mike Saez (session vocals) which makes a decent job through all this record but cannot be compared to old times with Craig Pillard and even with Daniel Corchado. Then, drums and guitars unleash hell and you feel the need of smashing your head against the nearest wall and then put the remaining parts of your brain back together just to do it again as you listen to this guy screaming “This Jesus must die!”. This is what you will feel throughout the eleven tracks, pure hatred against religion and perfectly executed old school death metal.

Being Incantation’s sixth release does not mean monotony or the repetition of previous releases, no way dude actually this record is pretty solid and songs like 'Crown Of Decayed Salvation', 'The Fallen', 'His Weak Hand', 'Blasphemy' and 'Deceiver (Self-Righteous Betrayer)' show you that this hellish band is not fucking kidding about making the most brutal and blood thirsty death metal on earth. Indeed, don’t try to compare this record with previous ones due to the fact that this is a different line up and their music has matured through the years (not the case of the lyrics). Yes I know and without a doubt, Onward To Golgotha, Upon The Throne Of Apocalypse and Diabolical Conquest are corner stones of death metal but this record has a new vibe a new blasphemy I would say, not like most old school death metal bands that end up releasing any goth or alternative shit (see Atrocity or Morgoth) Anyways, in some passages you can hear remembrances of old Incantation material.

Don’t be afraid, go ahead and give this record a try, no matter if you are fan of the old stuff or if this is your first encounter with Incantation’s blasphemous music, you won’t be disappointed. Why not give this record a 10? Well, I have the same cliché answer: it is evil and brutal but not as evil and brutal as Onward To Golgotha, Upon The Throne Of Apocalypse and Diabolical Conquest.

Rating: 8 out of 10