Aeon - Official Website - Interview

God Ends Here

Sweden Country of Origin: Sweden

1. The Nihilist
2. Liar's Den
3. Let It Burn
4. Opheus Indu Inferis
5. Church Of Horror
6. Deny Them Eternity
7. Forsaker
8. Into The Void
9. God Ends Here
10. Severed
11. Just One Kill
12. Mephistopheles
13. Let The Torturing Begin
14. Despite The Cross
15. Overture: Magnum Reginae
16. Queen Of Lies

Review by Michael on October 10, 2021.

The Floridian death metal guys from Östersund, Sweden are back after nine years of absence with their fifth full-length God Ends Here. I always liked their way of playing in the quite similar to Cannibal Corpse style (though some of their lyrics were quite infantile, IMO) and so I have to say that I was really looking forward to their latest output.

The first thing that meets the eye is the very impressive and sinister cover painted by Paolo Girardi. This is a very cool eye-catcher and is much more appealing than some of the covers they had before. The next thing that caught my attention is the very long track list. Aeon has 16 (!) tracks on the album but 5 of it are some short instrumentals. So everybody who can perform some abstract algebra will come to the conclusion that 11 “real” tracks remain. Taking a look at the line-up shows that Aeon have changed their drummer (Timo Häkkinen was replaced by Janne Jaloma also drummer in Dark Funeral) and their former guitarist Daniel Dlimi has returned.

God Ends Here starts with a short intro which turns into 'Liars Den', a very fast and brutal death metal song. You can find all the trademarks Aeon already used on their previous releases in Cannibal Corpse-like riffing and the usual staccato-like drums paired with deep, partly overlaid with some distorted, Glen Benton-like vocals. 'Let it Burn' is even faster than the track before and shows a lot of ferocity and relentlessness. The next tracks don´t differ much in intensity from the mentioned two. It is well-performed high-speed death metal sprinkled with some very appealing guitar solos. Okay, sometimes the guys slow down their tempo but nevertheless it stays very brutal. The first very big surprise comes up with the title track. After a very epic and somewhat calm intro, 'God Ends Here' starts with very atmospheric keyboard sounds and a very slow melody. I would say that the track is almost black metal-like, if there weren´t the death metal vocals. Through the creepy riffs and drumming a really sinister atmosphere is created. It is a quite remarkable track. 'Queen Of Lies' is the other very atmospheric track, which lives from its slow-paced parts, too. I think that these two tracks and also the instrumental ones show that Aeon don´t have to define themselves through blunt bludgeoning but also through tracks like those. Of course, the other songs are in the usual style we are used to get by them and this really doesn´t bother me either. Lyrically they deal with the common blasphemous and bloodshed stuff so that we all don´t get too many surprises on God Ends Here.

The production done by Ronnie Björnström who also produced the predecessor Aeons Black is very clear and powerful. It is a very good one for a death metal album which doesn´t leave any open wishes. So there is only one question remaining – when God ends here, what will start then?

Rating: 8.0 out of 10