Impaled Nazarene - Official Website - Interview

Suomi Finland Perkele

Finland Country of Origin: Finland

Suomi Finland Perkele
Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: October 16th, 1994
Genre: Black
1. Intro
2. Vitutuksen Multihuipennus
3. Blood Is Thicker Than Water
4. Steelvagina
5. Total War - Winter War
6. Quasb/The Burning
7. Kuolema Kaikille (Paitsi Meille)
8. Let's Fucking Die
9. Genocide
10. Ghettoblaster
11. The Oath Of The Goat

Review by Felix on November 28, 2023.

I confess. It's an utterly peaceful and extremely intelligent headline, but I don't have the copyright. Shame on me, it is adopted from a statement of Mika Luttinen from 1993. Well, the full-length of this year, "Ugra Karma", really developed an enormous power that could be compared with that of a nuclear strike, but "Suomi Finland Perkele" was an attack with a poorly adjusted air gun at best.

The here reviewed failure has almost nothing in common with its outstanding predecessor. Yes, there are a few numbers that stand stylistically in the tradition of "Ugra Karma", but in terms of quality, they cannot hold a candle to its songs. "Vitutuksen multihuipennus", for instance, is a flat speed song, dense, but equipped with more or less miserable guitar lines. The only thrilling detail of this tune is its title, a real tongue twister. Whenever I try to say these two words, it sounds like "we two took that multi penis", but that's another (nonsensical) story. Speaking of penises, the "Steelvagina" is not far, but it is nothing else but another faceless high speed track that does not trigger any reaction. I just sit there, do not even shrug my shoulders, but only wait for better songs.

Yet "Suomi Finland Perkele" is skimping on great tracks. "Blood Is Thicker than Water" surprises with a profound melody line and evokes a melancholic feeling, but it has nothing to do with those sometimes chaotic, sometimes well structured, but always relentless attacks of the first two albums. Credit is due to the band for avoiding commercial cheesiness. Nevertheless, this is not really the kind of music that I want to hear when listening to an Impaled Nazarene album, because the roughshod attitude is missing. "Total War - Winter War" is closer to the former outbursts, but it suffers from its both overlong and stupid intro. However, even the pretty good tunes bring one thing to light. "Suomi Finland Perkele" lacks of coherence. The group offers a stylistic mishmash - and downers like the viscous and boring "Quasb / The Burning" or the boozy "Let's F**king Die" are just useless. The latter crosses the border to punk and black' n roll, but this approach does not make sense at all. Despite its simplicity, it is confusing in the context of the band's previous outputs. However, all these disappointing tracks go hand in hand with the mediocre performance of Mika Lutinnen. The guy has seemingly forgotten that he is brilliant whenever his voice conveys an insane touch, but it does not work very well in any other case.

After the game is already lost, "Genocide" recalls the density, pressure and vigour of "Ugra Karma" and the remaining two songs achieve at least a solid level. Too late, too little. Impaled Nazarene seemed to be on the way to create their own niche, "hysteric cyber black metal" or something like that, but instead of sharpening their profile, they decided to play the clowns. I still wonder why they did not reap what they had sown. Okay, "Suomi Finland Perkele" is not the worst album of all times and despite a significant lack of atmosphere, its production is acceptable. Yet this does not mean that it is able to keep its head above water. Hence it follows that this work is rather nothing than an atomic war.


Rating: 4.2 out of 10