Ureas - Official Website

The Black Heart Album

Denmark Country of Origin: Denmark

The Black Heart Album
Send eMail
Type: Full-Length
Release Date: October 23rd, 2015
Label: Hänsel & Gretel
Genre: Gothic, Power
1. Hello
2. The Seven Deadly Sins
3. Black Heart
4. Seal This Moment
5. V For Victory
6. For Who You Are
7. The Valley Of The Shadow Of Death
8. Shut The Fuck Up
10. All Alone Am I
11. Epistula

Review by JD on August 8, 2016.

From the country that gave us… well… Lars Ulrich… comes a band that I think is quite interesting. Ureas are a power metal outfit, bent on proving that the music scene in Denmark can produce a band that does not involve Metallica or their shining star.

If you take power metal, then you mix equal parts of both nu-metal and groove metal … you get an unmistakable heavy explosion that is named Ureas. Led by husband and wife team Per and Heidi Johansson (both handing keys and vocals) and having guest bassist Mike LePond – you get a force that few could ignore. Bristling riffs, nasty vocals and very intelligent lyrics are what the band gives and delivers with the pinpoint accuracy of a sniper.

I look at the song list as I go listen to the album three times… I was struck with how good it was written. All of the songs were simply incredible, but two stood out for me as the stars here. Both The Seven Deadly Sins and V for Victory have the perfect melding of all of the separate parts to give you adrenaline fueled chaos while still keeping it all control. Few acts, anywhere, could match this feat of musical prowess… Ureas does it.

With some recording errors and the lack of separation between the different instruments on a few songs the album as a whole is pretty good. I enjoyed Ureas and their spin on everything and if the next album is as well written with the recording glitches omitted – that will be the album that could get Ureas on a worldwide stage very quickly.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10